Over at the Sacrementorium, there’s a new post shedding more light on Colonel Murphy’s request for extraordinary relief from the Air Force Court. Judge Mathews the Greatest posted a comment noting that the Air Force Court’s opinion is now up on the court’s web site. Murphy v. Smolen, Misc. Dkt. No. 2007-03 (A.F. Ct. Crim. App. July 13, 2007).

Unfortunately, the Air Force Court, like the Navy-Marine Corps Court, issues orders in extraordinary relief cases in an extremely uninformative format. For example, counsel in the case aren’t listed. I’m still wondering whether Colonel Murphy hired a civilian counsel and, if so, who. Also, the judges who rejected the claim aren’t listed. The initiated probably know who is on Panel 1 of the Air Force Court, but I’m uninitiated. Perhaps the most informative portion of the order is the indication that Judge Jacobson didn’t participate — I don’t know who did, but at least I know of one judge who didn’t. I wonder if he was unavailable or if he recused himself — which would hardly be an unexpected event in a case involving a senior Air Force officer who spent his career as a judge advocate.

5 Responses to “More on Colonel Murphy’s writ”

  1. Christopher Mathews says:

    AFCCA panel assignments are posted on the court’s website, and are usually kept reasonably current. As of the last update, Panel 1 consisted of Chief Judge Wise, Senior Judge Jacobson, and Judge Bechtold.

    Panels may, of course, be reconstituted as circumstances dictate, in the discretion of the Chief Judge.

  2. CAAFlog says:

    Thanks, JMTGst! Any idea who Col Murphy’s counsel is? Did he hire a civilian?

  3. Bill Cassara says:

    caaflog: The latest inside info I had is that Colonel Murphy is represented by an USAF 0-6 (probably the chief of defense or whatever the title is.) No civilian involved.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Lead Counsel is Colonel James Sinwell, former chief of the Trial Defense Division.

  5. CAAFlog says:

    I love the Air Force! The head defense counsel was named “Sinwell”? Who is the head TC, Colonel Hammer?