At the annual Code Committee on Military Justice meeting this morning, Chief Judge Effron presided for the last time. All the CAAF judges attended, as did 2 of the TJAGs (Air Force and Navy) and representatives of the other services’ JAG leaders. Senior Judge Walter Cox III and most of the members of the Joint Service Committee on Military Justice (JSC) were present for the short meeting. Army Colonel Pede, chair of the JSC, updated the Code Committee on the JSC’s recent, significant proposed changes to the Manual for Courts-Martial. More on that in a later post.

One of the first orders of business involved welcoming the 2 newest members of the Code Committee, whom DoD General Counsel Jeh Johnson nominated to sit. While the service TJAGs and the SJA to the Commandant of the Marine Corps join the CAAF judges as members of the committee, the public also merits 2 representatives. NIMJ joins the Committee in congratulating Maj Gen (ret) Charlie Dunlap, now Prof. Dunlap at Duke University School of Law, and former Coast Guard JAG Keith Harrison, now Prof. Harrison at the University of New Hampshire School of Law. The public is in great hands with those gentlemen representing us.

Comments are closed.